Large business have big budgets for marketing and promotic and as a result people garvitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

It is undeniable that marketing and promotions are crucial for the commercial world since they will increase customers' demand and sales will be boosted up. Consequently, there are negative impacts caused in various aspects. In order to increase local product sales, small enterprises should develop strategies for attracting more clients. This essay will first identify issues caused by those campaigns before providing solutions for local businesses. First, the selling tactics from big-size sellers can cause over-consumption. Buyers have to stock up on those promoted goods due to the attractive offers even though they don’t really need them. If they can’t consume those items in time, they might expire and become waste. Second, the monopoly distributor is another concern. If local suppliers are not supported and disappear, large businesses would take over the market and set higher-than-average prices because there would be no competitors. However, there are a few ways to encourage people to purchase goods from local sellers. To start with, product differentiation should be developed and communicated to end users. For example, there should be special products which are exclusively sold at the local stores. In addition, relationship building is also necessary. This can be done by improving customer services and tailoring offers to match each customer’s needs. To sum up, the negative impacts of large companies’ market overtaking are the increase in prices and consumers’ overconsumption. Also, there are solutions to improve the performance of local businesses which include the improvement in products and customer services.