Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this viewpoint?

It is being argued that government expenditures should go on something more beneficial than the arts. This essay, however, strongly disagrees with the statement because investment in the arts will help a country to represent its history and culture as well as it has the potential to generate revenue like other public services. First off, the arts are the various practices formed by creativity and imagination which illustrate the history and national legacies of a particular nation. That is why, investing money in them should not be overlooked as their reconstruction and redecoration are necessary for preserving the country ’s history and culture. These are elements that we cannot forget to protect due to the fact that if we do not do that, every building, statue or painting is going to be destroyed or damaged. For example, historic buildings, such as the Colosseum or the Pantheon located in Rome, would not be here nowadays without the spending from the government to maintain them. On the other hand, all the existing arts allow a certain nation to make more money as it has the capability to produce revenue as other public services, such as health and education. By investing in them and protecting them tourists from all over the world may decide to visit a specific country to view its art which leads to making the economy circulate. For instance, in cities like Rome that are famous for their art, people from different parts visit them throughout the year and therefore, the country gains a lot of capital. In conclusion, I strongly oppose the statement and don't think that it is a waste of capital to invest in art, because it shows the national legacies and history of a country, and the government will also gain more money than the one it spent.