Nowadays, the mobile phone plays a major role in our lives, which brings many benefits to us but also contains some drawbacks. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Mobile phones are becoming more common on a regular basis, which provide both positive and negative effects on people and society. On the positive side, it enables people to communicate with others more effectively and also revolutionises news broadcasting methods. On the other hand, relying on phones excessively could lead to several health issues, and also lacking some essential life skills. As for the benefits, the most prominent ones are the convenience and faster communication methods. With advanced technology, people can connect to each other spontaneously through their personal devices in the form of texts or video calls online. Furthermore, news agencies have changed their way of sharing the news, from televisions and newspapers to faster websites and social media platforms, such as Twitter. In contrast, it is inevitable that when people are exposed to too much screen time, it can cause health-related issues. For example, blue light emitted from the screen could harm the eyes which eventually ends up with a permanent effect on the eyesight with myopia. Long screen time also has psychological effects, with ADHD or other mental disorders. Moreover, with the convenience of various applications, young adults who were accustomed to mainly utilise the devices on fundamental daily activities, such as Google Maps, may have less experience in doing things conventionally. And, they would face some difficulties, when they need to do things conventionally. In conclusion, society receive advantages in using phones, with faster and more convenient information transfer. However, spending too much time with the device can cause some physical and psychological health problems, and a lack of basic life skills.