Topic 10: In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In the last century, the world witnessed regular famines, world wars and pandemics hampering the average human life. But, now with the onset of technological advancements and improvements in medical care, the average expectancy of humans in the developed world has increased to an all-time high. However, I believe this could create potential ramifications for society. In the below sections, I would throw more light on the problems and the ways to mitigate them. Firstly, since people can live longer, it can create more demand for available food & shelter. Hence, potential fights for the same supply are expected to happen in society in the near future, which could increase inflation and cause huge strain on the economy. Moreover, the retirement age in these developed nations would be raised from 60 years to 70 years. Due to this, the aged population would be still working in the jobs, which can limit the opportunities for the younger population. If it's unchecked, there is a high chance the job market would be very competitive and the employers might opt for unlawful practices of employing younger employees at a lower wage. In order to prevent the demand problems of higher life expectancy, the best way is to produce more food supply in a sustainable way. The governments should leverage efficient technologies to generate maximum yield from the crops to feed the growing population. In addition to this, the younger generation should not consider the older people as their job competitors, rather they should leverage the old one's experience for their betterment. Thus, if both the people from the opposite spectrum of age work together, the country's productivity and economy can be boosted. So to summarize, an increase in average life expectancy in the developed world, is a good problem to solve. If it's properly addressed, some of the key risks it poses can be completely mitigated and be used for the country's upliftment.