In some countries, an increasing number of children are overweight or obese as a result of eating too much fast food. Banning fast food from school canteens is the best way to fight this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

More children who eat excessive amounts of fast food are diagnosed with obesity in some nations. Some people regard school canteens prohibiting selling them as the best solution to tackle this problem. I partially disagree with this, for it is the individual responsibility to choose what people should eat in spite of their improving health conditions when schools stop selling fast food. On one hand, banning fast food at school canteens is effective in promoting the well-being of children. In other words, they are encouraged to consume more healthy products based on fresh vegetables and fruits without any choice of instant food which often becomes a primary cause for overweight. For instance, the amount of sugar, salt and chemical additives included in hamburgers and pizza is so extreme, leading to various kinds of disease and higher risks of obesity. This can pose a detrimental impact on those who go through a significant stage of development. Therefore, getting rid of all these unhealthy diets from school canteens is recommended to promote healthy eating habits among children on a regular basis. On the other hand, it is not a complete solution to reduce obesity unless each student should learn to make a healthy choice themselves. Indeed, they are required to consider the very effects that each food has on them as well as the serious consequences of the frequent intake of readily made products. For example, the understanding that consuming too much calories raises the risks of obesity and dangerous problems such as heart attack and brain strokes allows children to have a great responsibility in selecting the kind of food they eat for a lifetime. Instead of removing fast food from school, education plays a more significant role in raising their awareness toward food and health and increasing a sense of suspicion toward food, which encourages children to distinguish healthy diets from unhealthy ones on their own. In conclusion, I somewhat disagree that school canteens should stop providing fast food. Although it certainly encourages healthy eating habits among children, it will not be a dependable solution to prevent their overweight because of the declining sense of their own responsibility in choosing healthy diets.