In many countries, the number of people choosing to live alone is increasing. What are the causes of this trend? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is thought that nowadays a high volume of individuals tend to live in their own place rather than living with their nuclear families. Increasing use of technology and self-reliance are the main factors for this trend. Personally, I wholeheartedly believe it is impractical. There are many causes behind the eagerness of people to live alone. The most compelling one is that they tend to do their duties on their own instead of depending on their family. When people live alone, they should take account of their bills and domestic house chores and this results in being less impulsive in their expenditure and thinking twice before purchasing their desires. Another potential reason for the above is their excessive exposure to social media. Since technology plays a leading role in our lives, people start to mimic things that they are exposed to daily on social media. For example, if celebrities encourage their followers to have their own places to gain a high level of fulfilling lives and satisfaction, they may be attracted to their speech. Many reasons are worth considering for why I think this development has many downsides. In the first place, when living alone, people may isolate themselves at home and this leads to many mental diseases such as depression and anxiety. Indeed, everyone needs a person in their life to support them in the time of bereavement which raises the level of self-esteem. Secondly, In today’s capitalist world, people need to protect their traditions from disappearing. Indeed, one of them is eating dinner together and living with their extended family. With this development,all these cultural traditions may fade away. In conclusion, however, this situation offers some merits such as self-reliance. I strongly believe that this trend has many disadvantages as it increases mental health problems and also affects the disappearance of many customs.