Nowadays online shopping becomes more popular than in-store shopping. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Recent times have witnessed that people are increasingly inclined towards the Internet for shopping rather than retail stores. This essay intends to discuss various merits and demerits of this trend. On the positive side, the popularity of online shopping can be attributed to the convenience it offers. Buyers no longer have to drive all the way to shops to buy stuff, eventually, it saves time, particularly for those who have a hectic schedule. In addition, online shopping makes it easy to buy things from any part of the world. Even if an item is, not available in the country, one can buy it from online stores. Online shopping also allows you to compare prices before hitting the purchase button. Besides, online stores tend to offer attractive prices probably because they have lower overhead costs. This allows them to sell items for deeply discounted prices. This can lead to major cost benefits for shoppers. On the negative side, the ease of online shopping has made many people compulsive shoppers. Most of us spend lots of time on the Internet every day. And while we are on the internet, we get bombarded with numerous advertisements. The fact that online shopping encourages us to buy stuff that we do not need. This can land such a person in debt. Additionally, there are security concerns. When we buy things online, we run a small risk of getting our financial information exploited by unscrupulous hackers. Of course, good anti-virus and anti-malware programs can offer a great deal of protection. But almost every week, we hear about data breaches at major online retailers. To conclude, online shopping is advantageous on the grounds that it is convenient and cost-effective, however, its disadvantages in the form of unnecessary shopping and insecurity, cannot be ignored.