These days many kids spend a lot of their time playing computer games instead of doing sports. What is the cause of this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days many kids spend a lot of their time playing video games instead of doing sports due to numerous reasons. Firstly, computer games do not require the player to step outside; they can be played from the convenience of their home. Most sports are outdoor and require stepping outside subjecting the player to the outside environment which is not always pleasant whereas video games can be enjoyed right from one's room in a controlled environment. Another reason for avoidance of sports can be the risk of injury which can cause discomfort and pain. Secondly, these games do not require a lot of learning to get started like in sports where a player must spend time understanding the rules and hone their skills before even getting started. For example, cricket requires a beginner to learn how to hold the bat and the mechanics of bowling before they can start playing. Lastly, kids in this generation have been exposed to a lot of technology right from birth which has affected their interaction with the world. They prefer to interact with the world digitally not only for entertainment but also for socialising. In my opinion, this is a negative development as this can have a negative impact on a child's overall development. Participating in sports can help a child achieve better physical health due to the amount of physical activity involved. Inspiring more kids to take up sports can also help combat increasing childhood obesity as it is proven that physically active children are less likely to become obese later in life. Most sports also require teamwork, discipline, and leadership which are crucial for overall development of a child. Additionally, sports also develop a child's ability to form and maintain social connections.