The government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some adopt the view that authorities should invest more budget in railways than roads. I totally disagree with this perception for a couple of reasons. Firstly, it is generally believed that most means of transportation, such as taxis, cars, bikes, bicycles, etc., run on the street, so building more roads would benefit individuals. It is a fact that people are more inclined to use their own vehicles instead of public transportation; investing in new roads helps them stay away from commuting hassles. If policymakers ignored upgrading highways, not only fender benders but also fatal accidents would be induced as a result. Therefore, it is pivotal for the government to take road modernization into consideration. Secondly, there is a view among people that the expansion and erection of streets are more possible than rail tracks. Having said that, the traffic jams in the city during the peak hours would cause some disadvantages, for instance, a time-consuming and suffocating atmosphere. Thus, the appearance of more flyovers is essential to alleviating traffic congestion. Moreover, building the train system costs an arm and a leg, which would be a dilemma for developing countries such as Vietnam. The shortage of skilled constructors and designers makes them hire foreign staff who are paid a huge salary. Although using trains would mitigate pollution and accidents to some extent, it costs a fortune. In conclusion, I would side with those who disagree that governments ought to spend money on train roads because of their versatility and possibility, though some benefits are supposed to be brought if railways are modernized.