In the future all cars,buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that all types of cars, including cars, buses, and trucks, will become automated in the future. Some people believe that the lack of drivers in these vehicles is inappropriate for several issues. In my opinion, however, I agree that the benefits of driverless vehicles outweigh the drawbacks. Two main disadvantages are to blame for the phenomenon that some individuals view driverless transportation as negative. Firstly, it can be dangerous if the full driving process is automated and controlled by robots or artificial intelligence. For example, once some settings are wrong or even a single function is faulty, it can lead to unexpected accidents. Another reason is the costs, these driverless vehicles are expensive in comparison with current automobiles. Many people argue that, in the future, people with lower incomes can not afford the costs of buying their own car, thus increasing the gap between rich and poor. Nonetheless, I believe there are more advantages to driverless vehicles. In fact, automated transportation might improve the consideration of road safety instead of leading to more accidents. According to the report released by many research institutions in Taiwan, the accident rates of cars controlled by computers are significantly lower than those with human drivers. Therefore, there might exist a myth regarding the safety problem in this topic, and the traffic environments can even be enhanced due to the popularization of driverless automobiles. Next, with the development of technology, the costs of producing driverless vehicles will only become more and more cheaper. As a result, many people with financial burdens can also afford the costs of these new driverless cars. In conclusion, I believe there are more advantages of vehicles without drivers, compared to shortcomings.