Some people believe that governments should make investment in building public libraries in every town, while others think it is a waste of money because we have access to information via Internet. Discuss and give your opinion.

It is true that there are quite a number of people who are sceptical about the use of books in the digital era. Why should one allocate space and money for them if they can easily be accessed on the Internet? While the above is partly true, one also needs to strike a balance in this modern age since people are immersed in technology every single minute. People are either on their phones, laptops, TVs, iPads etc., throughout the day for various purposes. Libraries are instrumental in spreading knowledge, but they are more than that. They are places to store a treasure chest of knowledge accumulated over the years. In due time, they can become museums which store original editions for the use of posterity. In case of a worldwide technical blackout, libraries will be most sought after. Libraries are also the best place for a person to be calm and focused. It helps them detox from technology, immerse themselves into the pool of knowledge and quench their thirst. Libraries do offer alternatives and solutions for techies, they provide spaces where people can use their gadgets while accessing library resources. Libraries, especially in the future, will go a long way in teaching posterity about the way of life of the previous generation. Another perk is that, unlike technology, libraries aren't detrimental to one's health. Health is more important than wealth is the universal saying. Thus, investing in libraries is not a waste of money but rather a worthwhile investment.