In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Expectancy of life has increased dramatically during the last decades as well as there are more prevalent chronic diseases. For this reason, many scientists argue that longevity has more drawbacks, however, many others believe that an ageing population represents wisdom. From my perspective, I consider that demerits outweigh merits, and in this essay, I explain in detail my reasons. To start with, ageing is a natural process that every human has to face. It is not only about wrinkles or the deterioration of some physical attributes but also about biological mechanisms because body cells are under chronic stress and their intrinsic capacity for survival decreases. Therefore, human functionality falls gradually until simple tasks have to be supported by relatives or care workers. For example, dementia, which is exemplified by Alzheimer’s disease or frontotemporal dementia, has reached its acme during the last century. Besides, nowadays chronic illnesses, namely primary hypertension, diabetes, and chronic renal disease, have shown more devastating consequences that seriously affect the quality of life. Additionally, retirement policies are highly recognized worldwide, however, they rely on the financial requirements that should be completed by people who are economically active. During the last years, the rate of ageing has been increasing, however, the rate of natality has decreased steadily. As a consequence of this, in the near future, the economic field might collapse due to the lack of resources to supply pensioners. For example, in Colombia, the system has not been paid by workers since approximately 10 years ago, then most elderly people have not received their payments, and there are not enough vacancies to employ them. To sum up, there are more disadvantages than benefits related to longer lives and ancient people. However, social, political, cultural, and governmental issues should be taken into account.