Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year.What are the advantages and disadvantage of spending money on space exploration?

The issue of whether a nation should or not spend a large amount of money on space exploration is certainly a controversial one. Despite the disadvantage of substantial cost from the tax payers, I personally believe that the advantages overweigh the disadvantages. Admittedly, space missions require exorbitant funds and investment which will increase the financial burden on the government. As the major part of a country's revenue is from its tax payers, the policy makers are expected to allocate the budget to meet the public's pressing needs such as healthcare, education and environmental improvements. At the same time, it is undeniable that space exploration increases our understanding of the universe, which can lead to significant scientific breakthroughs. Hundreds of years ago, people lived in an age with the assumption that our earth is the centre of the universe. While astronomy and new technologies have developed, people have not only found the natural law of the solar system, but also moved our first step to reach outer space. In addition, successful space missions can enhance a nation's global reputation and inspire national pride. It will always be recorded in world history that the Soviet Union was the first country to successfully launch an artificial satellite into space, and an American astronaut was the first person to land on the moon. All these achievements can fill the people of a nation with enthusiasm and inspiration. The students will be motivated to learn updated technologies, scientists will be more devoted to their research and citizens will be more willing to support or work for this industry. Therefore, investment in space exploration can create jobs and fuel industries related to aerospace, engineering, and more. In conclusion, I consider space exploration to have more benefits than drawbacks. If the government and individuals can work hand in hand to support the development, it will bring us great advantageous effects.