Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because we see the same TV shows, advertisements, fashion and follow the same brands. To what extent the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

In the past years, due to a lack of media and telecommunication, boundaries between countries were clear, whereas, nowadays, these differences have disappeared. While there are some benefits associated with changing this trend, I believe the main drawbacks are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential advantage may be economic flourishing. If the same broadcasts and advertisements are accessible, willingness among people will increase in different countries, so requirements and import goods and products from other countries will increase. This leads to increasing purchases, earning money and gaining profit more and more. Another slight positive might be an increase in a sense of identification and equality. As a result of following the same brands in different countries, awareness about different goods and ways of life is increasing. Being familiar with how to dress and alter priorities changes their choice and mindset. This eliminates the difference between the style of living an Asian girl and an American one. Then, self-confidence and a sense of equality are increasing. On the other hand, the primary disadvantage of seeing the same broadcast is disappearing creativity and being unable to choose. Being prone to the same media can influence our way of thinking and standard of life unintentionally. They would be our role model and lose our sense of invention and decision. A further negative of following the same brands is the disappearing local customs. As a result of this, the majority of people are reluctant to traditional manners. For example, considering the loss of traditional parties or unique local customs. These cultural practices gradually lose their market and popularity becoming increasingly difficult to find. In conclusion, it is true seeing the same TV shows, advertisements and fashion and following the same brands would seem advantageous under the circumstances. However, in my view, its negative effects in terms of loss of traditional customs and emitting creative thinking override the advantages.