Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, many people think that humans are more dependent on others in the community. However, I am of the opinion that people are becoming more self-reliant thanks to technological advancements in portable devices such as laptops and smartphones. On the one hand, there are reasons to think that the younger generations nowadays place greater reliance on others, emotionally and behaviorally. Firstly, the ever-increasing competition in contemporary society places people under great pressure, which makes them more susceptible to a plethora of mental issues such as depression and anxiety. Therefore, many people in the modern days, especially the youth, are leaning heavily on their acquaintances for emotional support and encouragement in order to bombard these rampant problems. Secondly, due to the widespread use of smartphones, the majority of youngsters are exposed to constant connections via social media and other communication platforms. As a result, how netizens perceive and interpret the behaviours and lifestyles that they encounter in the virtual world can have a profound impact on their way of life. On the other hand, I believe that people are becoming more independent, especially in work and study. Before the era of scientific and technological revolution, going to school and receiving lectures from teachers seemed to be the only plausible way to study. However, the internet and searching tools have enabled a life-changing learning experience when now, internet users can do research and accumulate knowledge by themselves, which was considered infeasible in the past. Additionally, the booming of meeting conference platforms, such as Zoom and Google Meet, has led to a transformation in the interaction between people in school and workplace settings. To be more specific, instead of gathering in a brick-and-mortar building to work or study, distant learning and distant working have burgeoned into a norm, which means that people can stay alone and complete their professional tasks at the same time. All in all, although I am conscious of the emotional reliance that modern people place on each other, I believe that we are becoming more self-sufficient as a myriad of tasks can be done without external help.