Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits, TV channels. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Watching the common TV programs and ads as well as persuading the similar brands and fashions, nations are getting more and more similar. Despite some merits of homogenization, it has several detrimental consequences that are discussed in this essay. On the one hand, the main benefit of high similarity among countries is easier access to international brands and products. Many multinational corporations have expanded their product, making their services accessible to consumers worldwide. This fosters a sense of equality around the world. Furthermore, globalization leads to cultural exchange. Exposure to different cultures through media enables people to gain a better understanding of the culture and traditions of other nations and people are likely to apply diverse cultures and different perspectives in their lives. The chief reason for globalization, however, is the loss of cultural identity. Given the fact that homogenization probably erodes the local traditions and cultural practices, which means that as people only use one brand, over time, they may no longer focus attention on their local culture. Since Mango established a branch in IRAN, many women are more keen on this brand than Iranian brands, for example. Another major drawback of this phenomenon is that it triggers economic depression. Due to trade imbalances between countries, where one country exports more than it imports, many countries struggle to maintain a balance of payments. As a result, nations get involved in inflation and economic downturned. Yet, in my view governments and international companies often need to implement policies to mitigate the negative impact of homogenization on the economy and culture. In conclusion, although globalized media could be beneficial for people around the world in terms of the growing availability as well as cultural exchange, I believe that the downsides of this circumstance have surpassed its positive effect with regard to the loss of cultural identity and the lack of economic balanced