In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, people are living longer these days compared to the past. Some people opine that it creates challenges for the authorities, while others believe that society may get advantages if there is an ageing population in the community. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of this outweigh the benefits. This essay will first demonstrate that they might increase healthcare costs and strain on the economy, followed by an analysis of how the primary advantage, namely experience shared by older people, is not valid.   The main disadvantage of older people is that they may enhance the costs of medical care. That is to say that older groups tend to require more medical care and support services, which can lead to higher healthcare costs for individuals and the government. For example, in countries, like Bangladesh, authorities allocate a significant amount of money for the betterment of older people. Moreover, an ageing population might create pressures on economic growth. In other words, as more people retire, there are fewer workers to support them through taxes. This can strain government budgets and social security systems. For instance, in many countries, older people have left their jobs lately, which provides a tax burden to young people. Those opposed to this say that older people spread their experience in society. Consequently, other groups of people get benefits by means of their shared experience. However, there is actually no evidence to support this view and most of the time they feel sick and need extra care from their family members. In Bangladesh, many care homes have been established to provide for the needs of older individuals. In conclusion, increased healthcare costs and the economic downturn that the ageing population poses for both authorities and individuals clearly exceed the flawed argument that this community might be beneficial for society.