In many part of the world, there are now multi-generational households, e.g. where grandparents live with parents and children, than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There are a lot of families living with other generations of their family members globally. Even more, this trend is growing. This form of living is related to several social and personal reasons, and I believe it is a negative development. To begin with, there are reasons why this phenomenon is happening. Firstly, growing rent fees caused by overwhelmed real estate are causing this. People are obsessed with buying houses and buildings not for living but for profit. These people buy structures located in big cities where most of the job opportunities are placed. So, people live with their parents who own a house in or near the city. Secondly, freeloaders who lack independence and self-discipline rely on their families. They are not eager to maintain their own lives so they decide to rely on their parents or grandparents. From my perspective, I think this trend is causing more negatives than positives. First of all, privacy can be ruined. Having own room is a basic step to becoming an adult like growing independence and proactivity. Not having their own rooms can make children rely on their parents too much or break a relationship with their parents. Therefore, respecting their space is essential. Moreover, it can provoke rapid population decline outside of cities. If a city’s residents grow, it means the countryside’s residents fall, and it will worsen facilities concentration in cities. Then, more people will gather in cities creating a vicious circle. In conclusion, due to excessive rent fees and reliance, multi-generations live in a same house and this has a lot of drawbacks like a decrease in privacy and population outside of cities. Government should do their best to solve this problem, or else it will bring more serious outcomes.