in many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

Education is always a heated topic in today's society. Single sex schools are popular among some parents because such schools are believed to have positive impact on the children. However, I cannot agree with this point of view, I reckon co-educational schools have more advantages. Single sex schools have both merits and shortcomings. It is easier to manage the students with the same gender, and it is easier to design the teaching subjects and curriculum tailored only for one gender. However, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Firstly, the so called "tailored curriculum" will limit the students ' talent development. For example, a girls school may not involve much sports activities, but what if some girls are gifted in playing basketball, moreover, sports are beneficial for health and physical improvement in general. In addition, as all classmates and friends are the same gender in such schools, it may leads to communication problems, identity confusions when the students socialize in the bigger world outside of the school. On the other hands, studying in a co-educational school can not only avoid the issues mentioned above but also have some advantageous effect. The first benefit is equal opportunity. The students will acheive same chance to learn all subjects and develop their intrests which will eventually enhance their mental health and self-esteem. Addtionally, learning and working together in the same campus can improve the understanding between two genders. In the modern world, females and males from all walks of life work together to build the beautiful world, it is important to culture this sense of cooperation from schools. To conclude, I agree that there are more drawbacks sending children to single sex schools. However, apart from choosing the school, parents should have more communication with their children, understand their needs and respect their interests. In this way, I believe wise choices will be made together.