Some people believe that robots will play an important role in future societies, while others argue that robots might have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that robots will be an integral part of our communities, while others believe that could be fraught with pitfalls in the times to come. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am in favour of the former notion. On the one hand, robotic applications could be disadvantageous to a certain extent. First and foremost, this tendency could lead to an increased unemployment rate. For instance, some factories in Vietnam applied automated machines and processes, which caused many people to end up jobless since the demand for manual workers was on the decline. Furthermore, the enormous cost incurred to research and introduce robotic technologies would put a strain on government coffers. As a result, this could lead to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced social welfare, thereby forcing ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, to struggle even more to earn a living. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the development of robotic engineering will play a decisive role in the development of our communities in the foreseeable future. One rationale is that this technological advancement could help people free up their time for more enjoyable activities. For example, the robotic vacuum cleaner is one of the greatest inventions in household appliances. It easily moves under furniture and other obstacles to sweep and mop the floor, so it allows housewives to save valuable time on their household chores. Another justification is that automation robots could help workers improve safety in the workplace. This could replace humans with dangerous tasks, which would reduce the number of workplace accidents and fatalities. In conclusion, even though it is irrefutable that robotics engineering could give rise to a number of adverse implications, I would contend that it will one day become an irreplaceable part of human society.