Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

It is a contentious issue whether grandparents should reside with their family and grandchildren or they should live independently. Some believe in the family they can give moral support and increase intergenerational bonds, whereas in an independent life, they can have quality time and dignity of their life. This essay will discuss both perspectives in detail, culminating with my viewpoint in the conclusion. There are numerous reasons why people consider living with family for grandparents, a good approach. The prominent one is the safety of both them and their family. For example, A survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March 2015 that in 45% of cases of emergency medical conditions, the elderly survived because their family was there for first aid. To elucidate, since in old age, people may not have enough power to take adequate reflex action in case of emergency, their own family members can better provide such assistance. What is more, in return for the safety of their health, they can build up generational bonds in a distinctive way. Not only can they share their experiences with upcoming generations to tackle difficult situations, but they also can be a part of a catalyst for the movement of social and religious customs. Therefore, they can influence their family morally and socially to ensure sustainable development. Thus, this approach is beneficial. On the other side, living independently can bring a myriad of pros for elderly ones as they can have quality time. Since they have spent their entire life working for their family, they have the right to spend time with each other with no interference. To illustrate, according to painstaking research conducted by Sky News channel, 40% of old age people were keenly interested in residing far from their family in rural areas because they wanted peace and relaxation from city life. Moreover, in such conditions, when they are away from their families, they may like to do their work on their own and they can feel a sense of dignity. As they are not a burden on their family, they realize their self-worth. Therefore, this approach can be favourable too. To conclude, in my opinion, it will be a great approach if grandparents reside with their family as they can get a secure old age life and can be a pavement to strengthen generational bonds.