Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Roads and railways both are crucial parts of the communication system. It is believed that authorities must spend money on railways instead of other roads. I completely disagree with this viewpoint because it may put a strain on the economy as well as create challenges for people. On the one hand, spending money only on railways may put pressure on economic growth. That is to say that both tracks are essential for the development of a nation, if authorities solely focus on railways, then other transportation systems will be negligible as the roads might not be in good condition. Consequently, it will be difficult to earn money and support the economy. For example, in countries, like Bangladesh, the government allocate substantial amounts of money for both railways and other roads as such they can use every transport and generate money as much as possible. On the other hand, railways cannot be helpful for the people who live in cities due to limited transport in the city centre. In other words, if the government invest more money in railways rather than roads and highways then it might create problems for people at the time when they commute as roads are not available or remain under development. For instance, in India, the authorities invest capital not only in railways but also in other roads as they try to mitigate the problems faced by people. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the notion that the government should spend money only on railways because it might put pressure on the economic growth of a country and there is a chance to create issues for citizens.