Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinio

Parents always want the best for their children, be it for their basic needs, education or even their character development. Some people argue that children should be encouraged to compete in schools while others believe it is more important to teach children how to cooperate with their friends. Although there are some benefits of encouraging children to compete, I believe it is more practical for children to learn how to work in a team. It is undeniable that there are some advantages of growing a sense of competitiveness in a child, for example, it gives them a large amount of motivation, resilience and determination because they will need to focus to win against their rivals. Furthermore, if the children win, they will feel proud and it will establish a strong confidence feeling within themselves. However, there is a possibility that when the child loses, he/she cannot accept the failure and consequently they may experience a mental breakdown. Therefore, I believe there is still a downside to encouraging children to compete at school. On the other hand, cooperation provides a feeling of security and trust between children and their friends. It also develops the ability of a child to present their views and discuss other people's opinions, which is something that is very critical for the later adulthood stage of that child's life. Thus, I believe it is very crucial to teach children how to work in a team and have discussions with other people, instead of competing with them. In conclusion, although I see some advantages in teaching a competitive mindset to children, I believe it is more crucial to teach the importance of teamwork to children as when they grow up they will face many situations that need cooperation skills rather than competition skills.