Some people belive that museums should be free to everyone and not charge an entry fee. To what extent do you agree ?

It is asserted that museums should be free and without any entry fee. I totally disagree with this idea and I will elaborate on my opinion. To elaborate, owing to the fact that museums have costs and the government can not cover all their expenses, thus it is obvious that all the museums must sell tickets and try to finance their expenditure. The latest report of the Wall Street Journal about the financial condition of the U.S. museums has illustrated that government aid just covers 55% of their annual costs and the rest of that is financed by selling tickets or renting some part of the museum to the special cultural events. This fact highlights the reality that museums need to balance revenue and cost with other sources of revenue. The second reason is related to the private museums. According to the independence of the private museums from the government and public budget, they have to make money from different sources in order to live and continue. For instance, the Private Museum of London financed 65% of its expenses with private aid, 30% of selling tickets, and the rest of 5% from other sources. Although free museums could raise the proportion of visiting them, it can hurt many private museums considerably. Thus, this kind of decision is not possible in terms of financial matters. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the idea that museums, including public and private ones, should be free due to the high expenses of museums and also the dependence of private museums on ticket sales.