Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in word, picture, music or films) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Presently, restricting or censoring people who are equipped with superior and creative skills from fulfilling their creations without any consent and through their own personal whim has long been at the centre of discussion for many. It is my contention that as long as the intentions' of art creators are free of any kind of damage whatsoever to anybody, they have every right to go beyond their limitations. First and foremost, history is filled with the number of artists who had been arrested for their creative arts raised scepticism at political or governmental levels. To exemplify this statement, countless number of art containing female body parts are banned from being displayed at museums or art centres in conservative countries like Iran, Saudi Arabia and Afghanistan. Consequentially, the artists who created these pieces of art either got arrested or obliged to relocate to a new location where his/her art received respect. Furthermore, some countries where freedom of speech still exists can also impose a restriction on certain arts such as movies that contain information or historical facts that might not be in favour of those interested parties. Therefore, I think no artist should ever be frightened to restrict his/her own ability to generate art attributable to political or personal reasons. On the other hand, it can be a pragmatic measure to take to inhibit the work of an artist due to the fact that these types of arts may lead to undesirable conditions in the real world. Although art is perceived as a product of the goodwill and imagination of genius creators like Beethoven and Picasso, there are also a few artists with a negative aura that might captivate people's attention who are relatively less emotionally developed. For example, the novel "The Anarchist Cookbook" by William Power has caused global controversy in many countries. This book contains instructions for the manufacture of explosives and rudimentary telecommunications phreaking devices and it is linked to numerous acts of violence and terrorism after its publication. In conclusion, despite arts like novels, poetries and films enriching society, they can also provoke, challenge, and sometimes endanger individuals and communities depending on the context and geographical location.