🔶Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, it has been said that some children have spent their time on smartphones for hours every day. In this essay, the reasons and both positive and negative effects will be outlined before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, there are several causes that make the new generations spend their time on mobile devices. Firstly, they have a lot of attractive entertainment and recreation. For example, these new state-of-the-art devices contain games, movies, social media, books, novels and so forth, which can grab children's attention easily. Secondly, due to globalisation, youngsters might have met and made new foreign friends. Smartphones can ease them to communicate and keep in touch with those individuals. On the one hand, smartphones provide a benefit to youngsters. They can study and obtain knowledge, for instance, watching movies or communicating with their foreign friends to develop their English language proficiency. Besides, using social media, which contains a piece of news, helps them to stay updated. On the other hand, it is true that youths spend a lot of their time on their phones. This matter will lead them to get a bad habit and affect their health. Despite going outside and playing with their friends, they tend to lie on their beds, which in turn, cause bad effects on children's bodies such as obesity and bad eyesight. All in all, several children in modern days are addicted to their smartphones due to its attraction. In my opinion, the positive effects of using the devices outweigh the negative effects. However, instead of letting them stay on their phones for hours, parents need to encourage them to do something else in order to keep their offspring healthy.