The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the increasing popularity of internet shopping will eventually result in the disappearance of all retail outlets in urban areas. This essay disagrees with this statement. I believe that shops will continue to exist but that there will be significant changes to town and city centres. There are some products that will always be in demand for immediate purchase from a local shop. These include daily essentials such as milk and bread, as well as treats such as wine, beer and confectionary that are often bought on impulse. The future of shops is also secured by the fact that shopping has become a form of entertainment, especially the buying of clothes and non-essential luxury items. People love to browse and purchase on a whim. What I envisage will change significantly is the nature of our high streets and city centres. I think that more and more retail chains will join the growing trend of relocating their shops to out-of-town retail parks. Former shopping streets will be repurposed as entertainment centres populated by café’s, restaurants, take-ways and small live-music venues. In conclusion, I do not agree that the growing trend for shopping online will lead to the demise of brick and mortar shops. The real picture will see the continued relocation of most retail outlets from the high street and city centre and they will be replaced by entertainment spaces or converted to residential use.