In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driveless vehicles outweight the disadvantages?

The growing advance of technology these days will transform the transporting systems with the spread of driverless cars, buses and trucks which carry only travellers in the future. I partially believe that there are more benefits than negative consequences brought about by this trend, for the vehicles become much safer thanks to the sophisticated automation regardless of some difficulties in dealing with a sudden change. On one hand, people can gain the advantage as driverless vehicles ensure more safety of passengers. In other words, advanced machines, which have replaced human drivers are more likely to avoid traffic accidents. For instance, highly sophisticated sensors embedded in the front of cars can immediately detect some obstacles on the road to stop them and protect the lives of passengers. This will dramatically reduce the risks of accidents often caused by irresponsible acts of drivers such as drink and driving and sleeping thanks to the trusted electric systems. In fact, the number of traffic accidents has declined by half in Japan since it introduced electric cars in 2000. Therefore, driverless vehicles can avoid human errors and unfortunate accidents that take away the lives of innocent pedestrians and passengers. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages caused by automobiles without human drivers because the electric systems remain unchanged no matter what conditions. Indeed, it is difficult for automated cars to alter their commands once they start to drive. For example, they cannot easily stop by restrooms for rest and help even when passengers suddenly feel sick while travelling. Because automated vehicles cannot change their destination, they lack the ability to adapt to the emergent needs of customers. Thus, those who have children and seniors or have to travel long distances would be suspicious of them since they are worried about the one-way instruction that is not reliable in changing situations. In conclusion, I somewhat think that the advantage outweighs the disadvantages because driverless automobiles can reduce traffic accidents greatly due to the developed sensors and regulations which allow vehicles to avoid crashes. However, the inferiority to adapt to the sudden demands of travellers does not make them the best choice, especially for children and seniors.