Many people say that the gap between the rich and the poor is becoming wider, as the rich become richer and the poor become poorer. What problems could this situation cause, and what measures can be taken to address those problems?

Since the beginning of the 21st century, the difference between upper and lower classes is increasing due to more opportunities for the richer. This essay intends to analyze the problems this causes along with possible solutions to mitigate them. To commence with the issue of this trend, the first and foremost one is an increase in the crime rate. To explain this, when the gap between both classes rises, it will lead to fewer growth options for the lower ones. Even they have to struggle for meeting their basic needs. Due to this, they indulge in illegal activities. For example, a survey conducted by the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) in 2019 revealed that 40% of crime cases in India were filed because of the difference between the financial status of people. To mitigate this, the government should provide some funds and basic skill training programs for poor people so that they can generate their own income sources. Furthermore, another problem caused by such a gap is the lack of equal opportunities. In other words, different financial status becomes the main hurdle for poor ones to access better education and healthcare, which ultimately creates anger among them because they feel ignored in society. All this bad situation makes the economic growth worse. To tackle this, higher authorities should take relevant measures to provide education and health facilities at a cheaper cost so that everyone can afford them. In conclusion, the widening gap between the rich and poor generations has dire consequences, such as an acceleration in the crime rate and partial access to opportunities. Nevertheless, these issues can be solved if the government provides financial assistance to the poor and affordable education for them.