SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THE INTERNET IS RESPONSIBLE FOR DESTROYING SOCIAL SKILLS OF TEENAGERS AND YOUNG ADULTS. WHY DO YOU THINK THE INTERNET IS SEEN AS DANGEROUS IN THIS WAY AND WHAT CAN WE DO TO ENSURE THAT IT DOES NOT HARM THE SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT OF TEENAGERS AND YOUNG ADULTS.

In contemporary society, the availability of internet access has made it popular for teenagers and young adults. Consequently, their level of productivity has also diminished. In this essay, I will discuss the effects of this problem and how the government can possibly manage it. To begin with, increasing exposure to the Internet has an effect on the skills of our growing population. Browsing the web contains more interesting content, thus teenagers spend most of their time indoors rather than performing what they used to. For example, a survey revealed 90% of children do not know how to chop wood, additionally, they spend 80% of their time playing online. Furthermore, online resources provide easier ways of doing things, where our traditional methods slowly wear away. For instance, our usual way of cooking food has been replaced by shortcut methods which our young people adopt from websites. However, practical solutions to this problem can be found. Limiting access to the Internet via public policy ensures that our younger population will have time to perform their traditional duties. For instance, helping out in the bush and with domestic duties. Nevertheless, placing parental control allows excess only to the necessary contents which will be useful for our youth development. Take for example, allowing cultural channels while blocking gaming sites. In conclusion, internet usage demolishes the social skills of the younger generation. Developing policies to limit its utilization and placement of parental control can solve their problems. This will ensure that our children will retain our social skills.