More and more people want to buy brands with clothes ,cars and other items.What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The increasing number of individuals have the desire to purchase branded attires,vehicles and other things.The most prominent factor behind this is to show social status and riches.In my perspective,it is a negative progress because it is totally a waste of money. To commence with,nowadays,everyone wants to maintain a standrad of living which should represent their richness.To elaborate,financially well-off persons always have an illusion in their minds that only the costly material such as expensive outfits,cars or watches etcetera are the symbols of showing a high status in society,so without owning these stuffs,they could be thought as poor. For example,in the present society,almost 80% of the population has the latest version of iphone which is the most expensive brand of cellphones and shows that the owner of this version must have an abundance of money. Therefore,wearing or owning the branded material is the easiest way to boast of people's money. Probing ahead,the trend of buying the brands has a detrimental effect on society because individuals waste alot of money on the things which are not necessary.To explain it, there are some persons who do not earn enogh to buy branded stuff, so they take loan from banks to buy the expensive objects or oufits.At last they have to bear the consequenses of not paying the debt. For instance, according to an artical published in a newspaper,50% of population in India have their own luxirious cars but on EMIs, therefore,they pay for it almost whole of their life just to have high status in society. In conclusion, although branded objects are symbols of good status for the majority of people, they lead some middle class people in huge debt as they are not worthy to buy them. Hence, they put a negative impact on most of the individuals.