Social media sites have allowed individuals to connect with each other, share their experiences, and express their opinions. However, possible employers can also access these pages when making a hiring decision. Do you think information shared on a social media site should be taken into account when hiring people?

Nowadays, with a noteworthy development of social network systems, certain companies are under consideration to hire workers related to their social media sites. Some people contend that this could have a positive influence on various aspects, while others believe that this could lead to adverse consequences. First, social network sites are considered as a space where individuals reveal themselves the most. Looking at their platforms thoroughly, the companies can get their personal information including their personalities, tendencies, and attitudes. Hence, they can make sure that this person can mingle with other coworkers and fit in the business. For instance, sales department prefers extrovert people as the work requires to convince their potential buyers to purchase their products. If one candidate’s social network space shows that she seems very social and confident, the company would review her resume positively. On the other hand, if another one’s space reveals a lot of insults toward certain celebrities or antisocial behaviours, the company can prevent from undergoing potentially terrible situations related to the one in advance. In spite of its merit mentioned above, however, it can have negative impacts. To begin with, these days, people utilize their space to keep in contact and share their updates. But if this situation becomes conventional, potential employees will not upload their conditions on their social network sites in case companies spy on their pictures or writings. Thus, this could disconnect relationships with their friends and families. Consequently, their freedom to upload whatever on their personal sites is invaded. This could lead to a serious social problem. Eventually, no one will use those platforms in the future. In conclusion, it seems to me the phenomenon’s risks far outweigh its benefits, owing to the reasons described above. Therefore, I consider companies taking into account social media sites when they hire workers is not acceptable.