Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Children nowadays spend most of their day attached to their smartphones. The cause of this issue is the development of the smartphone’s technology and its features. Adults also have parts on this issue because they also invest most of their time on smartphones from doing the primary tasks to the hardest task of their day. As for my thoughts on this issue, I think that spending most of a child’s time on a phone refers to a negative direction. I personally can’t say that adults don’t have any involvement in this issue because I personally, as an early adult, spend most of my time on my phone. This simply has a reason because phones are helping people to do their labors more easily and instantly just by one click. The thing is, children most of the time observe the environment around them, especially adult’s behavior and habits. The other cause of this issue is that there’s so much that interests children on the phone, and on the internet particularly. The entertainment that the internet offers for the children is a strong magnet for them to get attached to it. This issue causes many negative things to the children. For example, if they have to do something, they will force the adults to give them what they want beforehand, which is their phone that they are addicted to. It will also have a big impact on their development especially when it comes to socializing, we all can see now that in-person socializing decreased because we can do most of our daily activities on our gadgets. The other negative thing is that if we're talking about their health, their eyes will get sick from spending too much time on the screen. In conclusion, being modernized by using smartphones on children isn’t necessarily wrong, but we, as an adult, have to supervise their screen time for their own good. Abandoning them to be on their phones is also not a very good thing to do for their development, but giving them all the screen time that they want is just going to have a negative impact on them which is addictions and health problems.