Eco-tourism usually involves people visiting remote areas. Some people think this will have a negative impact on local cultures and communities. What problems can result from eco-tourism? What measures can be taken to protect local culture and communities?

Introducing eco-tourism, which is the new trend these days for many countries, has concerned some people about the impact on the local culture and communities. This essay will explain the issues that can be caused by Eco-tourism and will provide suggestions that can be taken to save the native population and their heritage. One of the main worries about eco-tourism is cultural disruption. When travelers visit other places with different cultures, they usually try to make themselves a part of that culture. Tourists may try to customize the native culture to be suitable for them, which may lead to cultural dilution. As a result, the indigenous people can gradually lose their own identity. For instance, in Bahrain, the traditional uniform has been changed during the past few years because of the rising number of visitors and the foreign companies, so it is not compulsory for the government employees to wear the traditional Thop in the office. Eco-tourism can easily affect the local culture and communities in a harmful way. In order to solve these problems, some corrective measures can be taken to remedy the damages caused by over-tourism. Governments can raise tourism awareness among the local businesses by advertising on the internet, which can eventually develop the local economy. For instance, when travelers visit local communities, they are likely to see several advertisements of some products which are from local shops. It may lead local businesses to promote their brand names, which can make people more educated about local goods. Consequently, governments should take some responsibility for advertisements about the local market. In conclusion, eco-tourism might have some influence on the local culture and communities. Some individuals believe that it can cause some harmful consequences, while others do not agree with this idea. Eco-tourism can decrease local businesses' financial profit. Therefore, governments should take some actions to solve this problem, such as raising tourists' awareness of the local cultural and social values.