Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Some people choose to cure their health problems at home by using traditional remedies rather than visiting medical doctors. It seems to me that the drawbacks will outweigh the benefits of it. On the one hand, people tend to choose other options to avoid seeing doctors mainly due to the medical expenses. Nonetheless, it might be effective in some cases such as flu, cough, and headache, which can be recovered easily after taking antibiotics, as well as it is easy to buy at a pharmacy without any prescription from the doctors. Furthermore, a disease like the flu can be cured traditionally, for instance, people from Asian countries use gingers, garlic, and honey as medicine in curing. Despite the recovery for small cases, however, visiting hospitals is profoundly important for them. On the other hand, there might be some disadvantages of refusing to see the doctors since some diseases cannot be seen with normal eyes, which urges people to have check-ups at the hospitals. As a result of visiting conventional doctors, the speed of recovery is probably faster for some material cases like stomachache. If a patient does not undergo any medical test for that, the condition may worsen and lead to severe consequences, possibly even death, due to untreated pain which came from inside. In that case, it is obvious that professionals from the medical industry are essential for human well-being, in turn, individuals should consult their usual doctors when health problems occur. To sum up, in my humble opinion, it is not a good habit to reject doing medical check-ups with doctors to reduce expenditures, as this might lead to worse the disease, hence, the negative impact is greater than the positive.