In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In many nations, it is widely accepted that homeowners are better rather than renters. Even though having a new house poses higher social status, this essay argues that this is a negative development because it brings negative effects that will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the practical level, becoming a homeowner is commonly associated with a higher position in society. People tend to perceive homeowners as financially established compared to renters. For instance, many employees, particularly those who work as professionals or skilled workers such as doctors and lecturers in Indonesia, are trying to buy a new home in order to achieve this social status. Although having a new house may lead to financial problems, such as debt, most of them believe that this is the best way to purchase their social advantages as homeowners. However, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon is a negative development for some reasons. The primary reason is that it will bring financial problems for their family due to the fact that the price of houses is very expensive. Instead of spending a large amount of money to purchase a house, it is more beneficial if this budget is allocated for their school’s children or to improve the skills required in their workplaces. A study carried out by the Ministry of Housing of Indonesia in some metropolitan cities in Indonesia found that having a new home is associated with debt that tends to increase stress levels, which means that they become less productive workers due to the fact that their work orientation is money-oriented. In conclusion, owning a home is crucial since it is valued as having a higher social status compared to renters. In my opinion, this is a negative trend because this may lead to financial difficulties and less productivity.