Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The constantly increasing number of hours the young generation spends in front of a smartphone has become a hotly debated topic nowadays. There are both positive and negative aspects associated with this development. First of all, smartphones are the most convenient way of sharing information. By using the apps, children can not only talk to each other, but participate in charts and share pictures or shorts. For instance, it takes less than an hour for my son to create a new broadcast in TikTok and to get feedback from his friends. Moreover, it can be a great source of information, as with access to Google answers to almost every question can be found easily. However, there are some negative aspects, related to smartphones. For many children, mobile devices can replace real friends from the real world, as no time for peers will remain. Lack of communication with real people can prevent a child from proper development and can lead to serious difficulties in interpersonal communication. For example, in Mexico children grow up spending many hours in their smartphones instead creating relationship in real world, which is significant drawback. Another consequence of spending too much time on smartphones can be deterioration in the ability to learn. It is well known fact that after overuse of screentime pupils become more aggressive and experience difficulties in concentration, which affects their ability to study. In addition, the extended use of smartphones may cause addiction, which will negatively impact mental health. To conclude, many children recognize smartphones as useful sources of information and communication tools, however, uncontrolled use affects their mental health and encourages young people to live in virtual reality, that is why I see it as a negative development, that causes more damage than benefit youth.