Some people think that environmental problem should be overcome globally. Others think that the should be solved domestically. What is your opinion?

While some people believe that global environmental issues have to be tackled locally, others consider an international approach is the best way to deal with them. In my opinion, international cooperation is the most efficient and effective method of fighting environmental issues due to the high cost of possible measures and the global negative consequences of these problems. Firstly, taking into consideration the extremely high cost of measures that can be implemented to alleviate environmental problems, namely air and water pollution, a global approach will be more effective. Undoubtedly, there are many poor countries with an unstable and ineffective economy and they lack sufficient finance to allocate to solving environmental problems. Many African countries, for instance, face different, more severe problems, namely water and food shortages, which is the reason why they are unable to contribute to fighting global environmental problems. Hence without financial support from rich nations, environmental issues will be tackled only locally which is not the best approach to the resolution of global problems. Secondly, environmental problems have a negative and potentially devastating effect on countries all over the world. If only a few states try to fight global problems, whereas others do not contribute to it, the overall effect of implemented measures will be insignificant. To give a clear example, even if all developed countries reduce the amount of greenhouse gases emitted yearlys years ubstantially, the total amount of such gases causing global warming will be decreased insignificantly because of the contribution of a much higher number of undeveloped and poor countries. Thus, global issues should be alleviated internationally. To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position that environmental issues should be tackled globally owing to the scale of negative consequences and the high cost of required measures.