In many countries today, the eating habits and lifestyle of children are different from those of previous generations. Some people say this has had a negative effect on their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that the younger generation does not eat and live the same way as the older ones do. While the shift has aroused concerns about its harmful impacts, there is a positive side that should be acknowledged. Undeniably, the emergence of fast-food or ultra-processed foods can pose a huge threat to public health as most of them lack the essential nutrients that a human requires daily. Limited intakes of such products may be harmless; however, children, teenagers, and even young adults frequently fall for their cheapness and tastiness far more easily than the older ones, which makes them the most vulnerable victims to the long-term attack of those chemical mixtures. As some studies suggest, excessive consumption of fast food could significantly increase the likelihood of catching basic diseases. Diets aside, younger ones also spend far less time on activities that have beneficial effects on health than their parents. For example, due to the stress from school performance, more than 70% of students aged seven to twelve claimed that they had experienced insomnia, physical lethargy, and various mental health issues. Although the mainstream view on the transformation is pessimistic, the change in diet in some regions of the world may shine some bright lights. The traditional cuisines in China have the reputation of being overly oily, salty, and tangy, which are proven to be not felicitous to a child’s physical development, but the newly introduced Mediterranean dishes have modified eating habits among a faction of Chinese households. It is suggested by some nutritionists that the trend may reduce the chances of cardiac illnesses that are prevalent among the public. To summarise, while some surging habits can present harm, such as the increasing popularity of easy-to-prepare foods and declining sleep time, the introduction of helpful ways of living could enhance public health and well-being.