Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion and water pollution. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today’s tourism industry? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As we know, tourism cannot be separated from ecology-damaging impacts that are supposed to be refused and evaluated. Several aspects of this management are contributing to decreasing the ecosystem quality all over the world. Nowadays, even nature sightseeing tourism could contribute to damaging itself from the transportation that is used by tourists to get there. Breaking down components that play a role in the touristry industry, it is true that taxes are included as an aspect that has a quiet role in this industry because it could affect consumer classification and would eventually be related to reference groups and consumer behaviour. This is quite necessary but in my opinion, it is not the only aspect that might affect a variety of problems that are caused by touristry activity today, since it only covers a long-term impact. Imposing extra taxes on travel contributing factors should have an effect to substitute the damage, yet will not have a direct impact. Therefore, as an action to reduce the ecological impact of related industries, the government should give other sustainable options and reevaluate travel industry-related regulations should be prioritized because they will be more impactful to the ecosystem directly. As an example, facing littering problems in common tourist areas should be supported with proper facilities and enforced policies. Regulations should include every detail of sustainable indicators on touristry contributing factors. It will be impractical if the government prohibits ecology-damaging touristry components without giving feasible solutions and other options that could be more environmentally friendly.