Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Many people suppose that renewing driving license every 5 years is necessary to those drivers. The following paragraph will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this policy. Some people believe that forcing the drivers to retake their driving test brings positive impacts on the traffic environment. Firstly, attending driving tests regularly could help the drivers keep familiar with the driving rules and the driving skills. Once a driver rarely drives on the road in a long time, it might cause a traffic accident induced by his or her rusty driving skills. Secondly, some people tend to have their driving courses and get the license far earlier than when they actually need to ride on the road. If the policy of renewing driving license every 5 years were implemented, more people would choose to get their driving license when they really need it. However, asking drivers to retake their driving test regularly still causes some drawbacks. It costs an amount of workforce and expenditure to hold those extra driving tests. Besides, for those who drive every day, it is not necessary to review their driving skills at all. It could be a waste of time to ask those experienced drivers to take an extra driving test to prove their driving skills. Additionally, the government also needs to ensure that all the drivers obey the rule. It is likely that the authority spends plenty of time punishing those skilled drivers who is only have their license renewing tests late. All in all, forcing all drivers to retake the driving tests regularly has both positive and negative effects.