Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments should start investing more funds in building more railway infrastructure rather than roadways. Roadways and cars contribute to a very substantial amount of global warming and deforestation. It also causes the demolishment of people's property. Railways, on the other hand, are an eco-friendly mode of transport and can offer better connectivity and faster access to areas. This essay extremely agrees that governments should construct more railways. Development of roads requires searching for new locations and it consumes a lot of area. Building new roads or extending already existing ways requires the acquisition of land from many people. This would lead to many people losing their houses and will need to relocate themselves, making it a troublesome process for the public. This development would also require cutting down many trees, destroying the habitat of many birds and animals, and causing an imbalance in the ecosystem. For instance, almost 5000 trees were cut down to build a new road path. Cars are also responsible for global warming. They release a high amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, increasing the overall temperature of the planet. Heavy vehicles alone release 9 tons of greenhouse gases each year which is substantially low as compared to 0.2 tons released by trains. More railways, on the other hand, would help reduce pollution that is caused by cars and also make travel easier and quicker. Railways, unlike roads can connect between several areas more easily. Railway tracks are made on the outskirts of the city, which mostly consists of barren land, not affecting the ecosystem as much as roads. This, helps in increased connectivity as various short routes can be developed making the time of travel faster and easier. Short routes not only help in the transportation of goods in a faster manner, helping in the overall development of a country but also help people travel to different places in cases of emergencies as opposed to cars that have to face a lot of traffic. Since most of the railways are electric as compared to the earlier diesel engines, the amount of pollution that trains cause is substantially low, not contributing to a warmer climate on the planet. In conclusion, roads lead to the destruction of properties of people and also contribute to the loss of trees and habitats of many species. Moreover, adding to the process of global warming. The comfort with which people can travel and reach their destinations faster without causing a burden to the environment is certainly very beneficial. Hence, governments spend more finance on railways than roads.