Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Other believe it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are some different opinions concerning the subjects that are taken by college students. While certain groups of college students argue that it is fundamental to only focus on learning the materials that are linear with their major, I side with those who believe that it is important to study other subjects besides their major interests. On one hand, paying full concentration to learning for a qualification might offer some benefits. To begin with, students could gain a total understanding of the material that they pursue. The fact of studying other fields of study that are beyond their understanding might take their time to review and ruin their spotlight could possibly affect their productivity in learning their essential subjects. Additionally, students could focus on pursuing their careers. Nowadays, many career opportunities are looking for persons who have certain qualifications. By keeping their attention on materials that are related to their major, they probably have more comprehension to fulfil those requirements. On the other hand, exploring new branches of studies results in several advantages. Firstly, the pupils can broaden their horizons. Someone who learns various materials becomes a person who has a wide range of knowledge, which enables them to be an open-minded person. The fact that they are able to open themselves to new things can enhance their ability to be more adaptable beings. Secondly, the collegers can expand their career opportunities since they are exposed to new skills and knowledge. By unlocking new expertise, they can escalate their career paths and advance compared with who only concentrate on one major. For example, students majoring in law who study accounting excel more than persons who only have eyes on law because they have more skills than the latter. They can discover the interdisciplinary connections between the prime discipline and the additional courses. Hence, extracurricular studies can support their primary major. In conclusion, while focusing on one major could maintain someone's academic performance and align their class with their future careers, they lack of opportunity to gain new knowledge and new skills. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the idea of learning extracurricular subjects is more beneficial.