Some people say that we do not need printed newspapers anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

One school of thought holds that with the rapid development of the media industry over the past few decades, traditional newspapers have experienced a decline in the number of readers. While this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that conventional newspapers are irreplaceable to various extents. On the one hand, it is understandable that reading news on paper is not as widely used as before. First and foremost, reading news online is significantly more convenient nowadays. To simplify, with the advent of hi-tech devices with internet allowances, citizens can keep themselves updated by using their own phones through online information channels. Consequently, this acts as a precursor to the high rate of internet-based news users in the comfort of their own homes instead of commuting a long distance to get a newspaper in the newstands. Secondly, it is worth mentioning that digital newspapers are mostly free of charge. In other words, some e-papers from various sources do not charge users, thereby leading to a massive number of readers considering it an ideal choice. As a result, printed publications would become less known to the public. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that it is hard to see traditional newspapers ever ceasing to exist. One key rationale is that reading news on a digital screen too often can have an adverse effect on the eyes. This negative trend could cause those who suffer from eye problems to gravitate towards the traditional ones. Another justification is that the disappearance of newspapers could negatively affect businesses related to manufacturing books, namely publishers or logging companies. This is to say, this could put a strain on the thriving economy of one’s nation as well as cause companies to end up downsizing or even going bankrupt. This is to say that this phenomenon is attributable to massive unemployment in the worst-case scenario. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that printed material has been on the wane due to some beneficial aspects in this day and age, I would contend that it still plays a pivotal role in our daily lives.