In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

These days, there is a growing trend among students to pursue their studies outside their native land. Although, they may face loneliness at a young age, studying abroad benefits them with life experiences which would be advantageous in future. In my opinion, overseas education is an excellent learning opportunity, and it has more advantages than downsides. The greatest benefit of getting an international education is that students tend to learn lessons which are inevitable in their future lives. The young people get to know about simple things like cooking and cleaning to highly important tasks such as rent payment and finance management. In addition, most of them must go to work to meet their daily expenses and studies which helps them to learn other essential skills including time management. For example, one of my friends who migrated from India to Australia for a university degree is now an outstanding chef which he learned during his academic days while he was living alone. Therefore, it is an undeniable fact that overseas learning will benefit students to earn incredible real-life knowledge. The major challenge with international learning is the feeling of being alone which is an extremely difficult emotion to overcome, especially at a very young age. Being lived with loving parents and families around, the sudden transition to an unfamiliar place may create traumas among learners. Moreover, they may also find it difficult to find good friends as they are from different cultural backgrounds which can exacerbate their mental state. For instance, a recent survey shows that 20% of students studying in the United Kingdom are under depression and have suicidal tendencies. In summary, loneliness is the most concerning factor while studying away from home. It is becoming increasingly popular among young pupils to find an educational institution away from their homeland. While the challenges of being alone can be devastating the advantages of gaining knowledge about life will be extremely useful in a futuristic perspective. In conclusion, the benefits of foreign learning experience surpass the drawbacks we discussed.