Some people think it is important to spend money on road and motorways than on public transport system such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is vital to invest money in infrastructure instead of public transport systems like railways and trams. From my point of view, although investment in roads and motorways is fundamental, public transportation gives many benefits in various countries. It is obvious that developing the infrastructure plays a key role in societies. It increases the level of safety and reduces traffic congestion. To cite an instance, in Vietnam, many cities and provinces have lots of accidents because there are no large and flat streets. Therefore, the government should spend pay on this area in order to improve the quality of facilities and ensure the safe life of people. In addition, Ho Chi Minh City is the best example of this phenomenon. Due to the largest population in Vietnam, building wider pathways and expanding its capacity is a great option to decrease major issues such as traffic jams during rush hour. On the other hand, the growth of railways and trams brings several different positive effects on societies. It offers a wide range of opportunities for people not have private vehicles. Additionally, they can use this transportation because of the inexpensive price. For example, teenagers travelling by public transport like the bus can save payment which may be used for other purposes namely education or health. Furthermore, spending on public transport will decrease pollution around the world lead to a fall in the duty smoke in the air and prevent many factors from affecting the ozone layer. As a result, there are fewer health problems happening in humans such as lung cancer. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that investing in roads and motorways gives various benefits like reducing traffic congestion, spending funds on railways and trams are also good for countries such as decreasing the pollution phenomenon.