Some people think that the media has the right to publish details of people’s views, while others think it should be controlled. Discuss both views.

It is argued that publishing detailed information about people's beliefs is a part of media right, while others argue that controlling media is crucial. This essay will discuss both views in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, covering detailed information on people's perspectives is commonly regarded as a part of freedom of speech. It means that the media has the right to give information about not only thoughts of certain people but also other detailed information about them as long as based on journalism ethics. In many democratic countries, media is regarded as one of the pillars of democracy in which they have a crucial role in informing about elite views such as presidents, ministers, and other public figures. It is important because by presenting them on the news, the media could control the elites from misbehaving such as corruption. However, others are of the opinion that media should be managed because it can lead to disturbing people's privacy. In this digital era where information can spread rapidly, governments have to control media coverage. In the last two decades, the Indonesian government has introduced the Information Law to ensure that media industries pay attention to their news. This controversial policy has brought some newsrooms to the court. Furthermore, media outlets can be banned if they spread disinformation and hoaxes about people in their journalistic works. In other cases, many civilians who comment unethically on social media platforms receive penalties based on this law. Even though some experts blame this law is robbing democracy, others believe that this is an effective tool to control media. In conclusion, the right of media to cover personal ways of thinking is a part of the freedom of speech principles. On the other hand, others believe that human privacy is crucial, so media should be controlled, particularly by introducing the law.