In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our modern world, the choices made by young people in relation to beginning a career are changing with many university-age populations opting to undertake training in the workplace. While this has numerous benefits for both society and the young, some drawbacks can also be observed. Tertiary schooling opens a number of doors to graduates, who tend to have more opportunities as life develops, leading to them potentially feeling more fulfilled by their profession, earning higher salaries and the possibility to further their learning through Master’s degrees or Doctorates in the future. Not only can the benefits be felt in increased earning power but also in terms of personal development, with graduates having been proven to lead healthier, more fulfilled lives. However, a huge advantage for youngsters making the decision to enter the workplace nowadays lies in the diverse range of apprenticeships and vocational training opportunities available. These allow young workers to earn a modest living and receive on-the-job training while attending college courses and earning recognised qualifications. In countries in which such apprenticeships are not available, young people may be able to fund their own part-time studies by earning a salary. For example, the huge increase in the number of call centres in up-and-coming countries could provide a youngster with a stable job while undertaking training in other areas, or within the field of technology or marketing. Furthermore, organisations which can impart working knowledge to their young workers, moulding and preparing them for future careers, greatly benefit firms and individuals, who will not need to gain practical skills after graduating. Having received this on-the-job training, they are then in a position to further their learning if they choose, or begin to earn a salary as a professional in their field. In conclusion, although the merits of a traditional university education are numerous, I believe the benefits of more modern options outweigh them, as they are open to all and enable the young population to gain both the theoretical and practical knowledge necessary to earn a good salary from their chosen profession.