Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this is not good for children, while others say that competition help students try harder and achieve more. Give your opinion.

In recent years, the educational system, especially the school education, has become highly competitive. Although a few individuals argue that the increased competition can have negative consequences on the development of children, others think that it is a positive development as it fosters young minds to accomplish great success. This essay will discuss both views before presenting my opinion. To begin with, critics of competitive education contend that it can adversely affect the mental well-being of children. When schools promote competitive education, they put the young individuals under pressure. For instance, schools increase the number of tests conducted at their institutions to prepare pupils for competitive examinations, such as the college entrance examination. As a result, students are compelled to spend more time on studies, with less physical activity. This can in turn affect their mental as well as physical health. The increased incidence of depression and social anxiety in teenagers can be cited as an example to this. Therefore, it can be justified that increased competition can have negative impacts on children. Conversely, advocates of competitive education argue that it can encourage students to achieve more. As competition increases, learners require higher scores to gain better ranks in tests. Furthermore, they should have extraordinary grades to enter professional courses. Consequently, many students enroll in special coaching institutions to improve their scores. For example, many high school students in India join additional entrance preparation courses to secure excellent grades in professional entrance examinations. In my opinion, although competition boosts children to work for higher education, its detrimental effect on these young minds cannot be neglected. While a promising knowledge economy is built through this level of competition, many young students are deeply affected by the enormous level of stress they are subjected to during this journey. Therefore, a balanced approach will be rewarding, which offers adequate breaks and appreciation to reignite and refresh these young children.