Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these method are ineffective, and at worst that may be dangerous. To what extent did you agree with this statement.

Despite all the major advancements in modern medicine, there are still uncurable maladies, uncertain diagnoses, and failed procedures, it is an inevitable part of life, yet people who experience it find themselves in a defeated position, seeking alternative solutions, even if they are unproven, the human mind can not comprehend staying helpless. Regardless of the motives behind this trend, I strongly agree with the mentioned statement and I advocate against so-called alternative medicine, as a medical doctor myself, I found time after time that these methods are doing more harm than good. in this essay, I will highlight the reasons why these methods are gaining popularity, and refuting them one by one. Firstly, they are mostly ineffective, yet there are some strong advocates for traditional ways across the countries. For example, herbal teas are widely advocated to relieve several symptoms, but there is no shred of evidence for their effectiveness, many people report feeling well afterwards, it happens where the symptom itself is self-limited, yet people correlate the intake of herbal tea as the cause of cure, this phenomenon is called the Placebo effect. However, this might not be a drastic problem for a case of flu, yet in other cases, this misconception causes severe causalities, in my practice, I have encountered patients presenting with late-stage cancers with several metastasises, due to delayed diagnosis and treatment. If it was not for following the traditional healer's advice those cases could have a better prognosis, hence alternative prescriptions can seriously danger population health. In conclusion, ultimately evidence-based medicine is the only way to reduce morbidity and mortality, other methods are not better than flipping a coin, and no sane person can rely on chance to determine their health. The medical staff shall educate and spread awareness regarding this matter, and the government shall limit the activity of false healers.